Things to Do in New York for FREE!

image

In exactly two months, I’ll be back in New York but leaving for my two month backpacking (I’m not sure if I exactly want to backpack yet) trip to Europe and Asia. My first stop will be Milan then the world is mine. In the meantime, I’ll be reminiscent of my love for New York and share with you some things you can do for free (or as your budget permits):

South Street Seaport

I fell in love with NY because of this location. It’s filled with lots of charms with the streets paved with cobbled stones (not what I envisioned when I thought of NY). You can walk around, dap in a bit of shopping, enjoy lots of restaurants and bars, take tours or the other free activities available like the outdoor film series.
image

 

Bryant Park in Manhattan

There are always events happening at Bryant Park. I mentioned the HBO film festival in a previous post and I believe it takes place every summer. In the winter, you can participate in the winter festival or simply take a walk in the park.
image

image

image

 

The High Line Park in Chelsea, Manhattan

The High Line is a park built on former elevated train tracks. Free guided walking tours are available during certain days.
image

image

image

image

image

Bronx Zoo

When I was younger, I always thought it was funny when people ask me do wild animals roam the streets of Africa (I forgive them– it’ wasn’t their fault they did not know Africa is NOT a country). The only wild animal I had seen were hyena during some type of street parade. I’ve been to the zoo twice and both times were in Chicago and New York. I finally got the opportunity to see some wildlife (I hope I get the chance to go on a safari trip soon) like the Zebra (I did major trekking to see them), bison, etc. Coincidentally, we went on a Wednesday and Wednesdays’ admission are based on donation and the Total Experience Tickets are half priced (originally $33.95). You can some bucks by buying your ticket online too.
image

image

image

 

Enjoy endless restaurants choices

I love dining in NYC because of its diversity. I’ve been wanting to try Korean BBQ and Korean Town is the right place for this. We went to Don’s Bogam and it was quite an experience. The food and the service were impeccable.
image

image

image

Here’s a bonus;
If you don’t want to be bothered paying a fee to visit the Statue of Liberty but you would like to see Lady Liberty up close and admire the city’s skyline from a different point of view, then you should take the Staten Island Ferry for FREE!

image

Safe travels
Xx
Marg

Leave a Reply

