2014 Reflections and New Year’s Resolutions

image(Lyon, France)

It’s officially the 35th day of the year. So, it is perfect timing to reflect on the past year as I have officially settled into the new year. 2011 was the year that changed my life but 2014 was the year that brought meaning and more excitement to my life. If someone told me that my 2014 would be what it became, I would have not believed it.

I started my year of travel when I booked a mistake fare to Milan, Italy back in November 2014. I did not know I would have ever more opportunity to travel further into the world. Just alone last year, I traveled to fifteen country (list of countries are below) and some more than once (Italy, Netherlands, Singapore, etc). I witnessed many sceneries like the beautifully stacked rice terraces in Bali to the marine life in Palawan and it’s many secret lagoons, caves and underwater rivers in the Philippines (guy, I snorkeled!) to the new year in Rotterdam and Amsterdam. These are experiences that I dreamt of having as I researched about different corners of the world and listened to and read hundreds of travel stories while liking countless of Facebook and Instagram posts, in hope I could experience them in the future. I did! I did! I am forever grateful for the life I have lived and continue to live and thankful for you, the people that inspire me.

  • Italy
  • Greece
  • Germany
  • Canada
  • Panama
  • Slovenia
  • Austria
  • Czech Republic
  • Netherlands
  • Japan
  • Indonesia
  • Malaysia
  • Singapore
  • Philippines
  • Thailand

I ended my year with the second portion of my round the world trip by flying back out to Amsterdam and Rotterdam for new year’s eve and the first couple of days of the new year (blog post coming up in a near future). This was followed by an eventful couple of weeks in Strasbourg, Lyon and Nanterre/Paris in France, an amazing weekend trip to Barcelona (take me back), and stopovers in Oslo, Norway and Helsinki, Finland. Now, I am at my home base, Chicago.

Generally, I am not the one to have resolutions. However, as I continue to grow, I have come to a realization that it is vital to set goals and deadlines to keep one’s self accountable. Here are some of my resolutions:

  • Slow travel
  • Explore Africa!!
  • Use my travels towards a more meaningful purpose than just self-discovery (I’m taking suggestions).
  • Write, finish and post the many blog posts I started but never finished.
  • Put in more time and effort towards my blog especially when I am traveling.
  • Better my photography and videography skills (well my lack thereof).
  • Continue to learn how to swim (swimming classes begin again next week).
  • Collaborate with other writers, traveler, photographers, companies, etc.

Lastly, I do not intend on traveling anytime soon. Therefore, I will have a lot of time to work on my 2015 goals. My next big adventure is the Maldives, at the end of April. This time around, I’ll work you guys through the many processes I go through when planning my trips (who need a travel agent anyway) from booking flight tickets to creating itinerary and everything in between.

 

What are your new year’s resolutions and how are you working towards your goals?

I wish you a happy new!

 

xO

Marg

Leave a Reply

